The Grades

The following pages detail the grading syllabus required for each level.  If you have any questions, ask the sensei at your local club.

Kyu Gradings

First Grade – 10th Kyu to 9th Kyu (White Belt to Orange Belt)

Second Grade – 9th Kyu to 8th Kyu (Orange Belt to Red Belt)

Third Grade – 8th Kyu to 7th Kyu (Red Belt to Yellow Belt)

Fourth Grade – 7th Kyu to 6th Kyu (Yellow Belt to Green Belt)

Fifth Grade – 6th Kyu to 5th Kyu (Green Belt to Purple Belt)

Sixth Grade – 5th Kyu to 4th Kyu (Purple Belt to Purple & White Belt)

Seventh Grade – 4th Kyu to 3rd Kyu (Purple & White Belt to Brown Belt)

Eight Grade – 3rd Kyu to 2nd Kyu (Brown Belt to Brown & White Belt)

Ninth Grade – 2nd Kyu to 1st Kyu (Brown & White Belt to Brown & 2 White Belt)

Dan Gradings

10th Grade – 1st Kyu to Shodan (Brown & 2 White Belt to Black Belt)

11th Grade – Nidan

12th Grade – Sandan

13th Grade – Yondan

Leave a Comment